Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Awkward sunburns and macaroni salad part 2

Ok, so the good news is, my mom and I totally fixed the macaroni salad and made it delicious. All we needed was a whole jar of pickle relish. I didn't even think I liked pickle relish!

The bad news...well remember how I said it might be me standing by the salad, shoveling it in all afternoon? That's kind of what happened. Only I was standing by the potato chips and french onion dip. Which is the best thing EVER. After shoveling that into my mouth for something like an hour, I frankly just didn't have room to shovel that much macaroni salad. Which you know, didn't stop me from eating a lot anyway.

But see, I'm not going to give myself a hard time about that. Because this is the new Alex. The Alex who is not mad at herself for eating. Today I played bocce ball (well, I use the word played very loosely since I'm pretty sure we butchered the rules) with my family. I swung on a swing-set and went so high, my boyfriend thought I was going to go over the top. I played dice games with my grandfather. I got badly sunburned on my arms, in a really awkward looking pattern (er and by that I mean it's blotchy and blobby and on my forearm. I do not mean that it looks like something dirty, which is kind of how that sounded). I had a lot of fun. And since my new goal in life is to do one thing that really makes me happy every day, I consider this to be a successful day. Awkward sun burns aside.

Now if only I felt at all ready to go back to work... Sigh long weekends always make it so much harder to go back to the office.

Monday, May 30, 2011

Awkward happenings and macaroni salad

Well. Hello. On the off chance that anyone is still out there. I know. It's been months. I let you down. There has been a serious lack of posting.

I just couldn't post about how I was not losing weight, eating right or accomplishing any of my life goals (which is what has been happening the past 4 months or so). Also I had pneumonia for like 2 months, which left me surprisingly weak. But things are looking up! I wrote for several hours this weekend. And I'm cutting myself some slack on that whole weight loss thing. I mean didn't some doctor once say that it's healthier to be slightly overweight in the long run? (NOTE: This is completely not true. I have made up that fact. But shh...)

Anyway, from now on the blog will be about other things. Like good things I accomplish each day. Or awkward things I accomplish each day. Or both.

Today, for example I met with a potential roommate. Innocuous enough, right? But since this is me we are talking about it was sort of awkward. Awkward fact #1: My current roommate has not officially stated that he will be leaving in Sept. He said he was leaving, and then he said he wasn't. And then he said he might be. And then I kind of told him that he needs to be leaving, since I am interviewing people to live in his room. I tried to explain this situation to the potential roommate. Unsurprisingly she was slightly concerned about the whole, he may not be leaving thing and wanted to clear that up straightaway. Which sort of got us off to an awkward start. Awkward fact #2: I had never met this potential roommate before. She was not a friend of a friend, or someone I met in a bar. I fact, she was someone my dad met in a bar. Totally normal. Several weeks ago, my dad was visiting the San Francisco. He told me he was hanging out with friends, maybe hitting up some bars. At 11:30 pm on a Thursday, I received a text from my dad saying, "I have found you a roommate. She's great, she reminds me of you. She'll be contacting you." This past week, she did. So we agreed to meet up because apparently, she had a great time at dinner with my dad and he was fun. Apparently, my dad was hanging out with her uncle and she came too.

So yeah. I met up with this girl today. She was nice. I think we got along well. She may be moving in with me. Totally typical day in the life.

Also my mom and I made bland macaroni salad for our Memorial Day BBQ tomorrow. I wish I could say it is bland because it's low fat, but actually, it's really fattening. And bland. This is why I date a chef. I'm hoping he can secretly save the salad so I can look like a genius in the kitchen. Not that anyone who knows me would believe that I was a genius in the kitchen.

So anyway, I'll post again soon. Perhaps as soon as tomorrow. Once I'm done standing by the food stuffing my face with mediocre macaroni salad (which I will not be able to stop eating despite the fact that it's not so tasty).