
http://www.amazon.com/Happiness-Project-Morning-Aristotle-Generally/dp/0061583251

http://www.amazon.com/Happiness-Project-Morning-Aristotle-Generally/dp/0061583251
In all honesty, I still can't wake up on time. In the morning I can either be on time to work OR have breakfast, do my hair and make my lunch. Most days I eat instant oatmeal at my desk with my wet hair drying into odd shapes. I cannot dress well, despite the fact that I sometimes spend an hour trying to put together my outfit. I have not yet mastered the art of looking or feeling put together. I still would rather play video games then go for a run. I sleep on the BART train and arrive at work rumpled and with crazy looking hair. I do not eat well, or exercise or write as much as I should. I feel guilty about all of these things. And worst of all, I am starting to realize that the reason I do not eat well or exercise is because deep down I do not want to eat well or exercise. Even though I also do not want to be fat and unhealthy.
So yeah. If budgeting makes me sound grown up, I'll take it. I did diversify my portfolio. All by myself (well and with a lot of online research). I take my successes where I can get them. If I can be known as that financially savvy spaz, that's good enough for me.
I also write great cover letters. And I'm good at editing other people's writing (for style, not for typos). Sometimes I even give good life and career advice. Just don't ask me for fashion advice because I am terrible at getting dressed. (True side note - I am not even good at the act of getting dressed. I spent 20 minutes trying to zip up the back of my dress the other day by contorting into weird and unnatural shapes and I couldn't do it because my arms just aren't long enough to reach. I finally put on another outfit. One with no zippers.)
As I struggle to find a way to appreciate my good qualities (see above) and not beat myself up about my failures (see even further above), I'm learning that a big challenge is figuring out what exactly it means to "do something good for yourself everyday" (which is my new feel-good daily goal). Does that mean eating ice cream and not feeling guilty about it? Or does it mean not eating the ice cream and feeling proud and self-satisfied (albeit hungry and sad as you watch your boyfriend eat his)? This is a question I am really grappling with today, having just consumed both a latte and an ice cream. I sometimes feel like either way I will feel bad. If I don't eat it I feel like I'm letting life's special moments (and delicious foods) pass me by. If I do eat it I feel like I am taking away from my overall lifetime happiness because I won't be stick skinny and good looking in a bathing suit. (Although honestly, I am from Northern CA. When am I ever in a bathing suit?) I'm not so overweight that my health is in danger (in fact, according to my BMI, I am not overweight at all!) so why all this guilt? Why can I not just eat what I want and be free?
And, with that, the blog has officially strayed into the realm of introspective and rhetorical questions, so I will end that now, lest this blog simply become guilt ridden and angsty.
In my next post I plan to discuss the relative dangers of bluetooth ear pieces. So you'll get a break from all this "questing for happiness" stuff. You know, all two of you who still read after my months of prolonged absence from the blogospehere (is that a real word? I think it's one of those words that is really not cool to use, but I'm using it anyway).